Legislative Council

The Legislative Council is our town’s legislative branch.  It is elected by districts, unlike the Boards of Selectman, Education and Finance.  There are three districts in Newtown.

Current Members.

Meeting Minutes.

The current Charter chaper 7 is dedicated to the LC.  It starts off:

7-10 The Legislative Council

the legislative council shall consist of 12 members, 4 of whom shall be elected from each of 3 legislative council districts as nearly equal in population size as is practicable, established in accordance with section 2-10 (b) of this charter. members shall serve without compensation but shall be entitled to reimbursement for just and necessary expenses incurred
in the performance of their duties. No member of the legislative council shall hold or be appointed to any other office, board or commission of the town.